Welcome to the website for the 23rd IUPAC Conference on Physical Organic Chemistry

ICPOC is a biannual conference, with the previous two being held in Durham, UK (ICPOC21, 2012) and Ottawa, Canada (ICPOC22, 2014).  Physical organic chemistry of this conference series is viewed as 'a broad church' encompassing not just the traditional physical organic areas of mechanism, reactivity and structure but extending into biology, materials science and systems chemistry.  Accordingly, the streams of this conference will be: 

  • Physical Foundations of Organic Reactivity

  • Mechanism and Bioorganic Chemistry

  • Supramolecular and Systems Chemistry

Confirmed speakers

Plenary Speakers

  • Arieh Warshel (University of Southern California)
  • Luis Campos (Columbia University)
  • Sabine Flitsch (University of Manchester)
  • Ken Houk (University of California, Los Angeles)
  • Feihe Huang (Zhejiang University)
  • Heather Maynard (University of California, Los Angeles)
  • Herbert Mayr (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, München)
  • Jan van Esch (Delft University of Technology)
  • George Whitesides (Harvard University)

Luis Campos is the 2016 recipient of the Journal of Physical Organic Chemistry Award for Early Excellence in the Field of Physical Organic Chemistry.

Keynote Speakers

  • Manabu Abe (Hiroshima University)
  • Clémence Corminboeuf (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne)
  • Luis Echegoyen (University of Texas, El Paso)
  • Maxim Evstigneev (Sevastopol State University)
  • Philip Gale (University of Southampton)
  • Pengju Ji (Tsinghua University)
  • Lynn Kamerlin (Uppsala University)
  • Koop Lammertsma (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)
  • Junqiu Liu (Jilin University)
  • AnnMarie O'Donoghue (Durham University)
  • Yuanjiang Pan (Zhejiang University)
  • Emily Parker (University of Canterbury, Christchurch)
  • Addy Pross (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev and NYU Shanghai)
  • Larry Scott (Boston College)
  • Dean Tantillo (University of California, Davis)
  • Marcey Waters (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
  • Spencer Williams (University of Melbourne)
  • Eiji Yashima (Nagoya University)

Invited Speakers

  • Mohamed Amedjkouh (Universitetet i Oslo)
  • Joakim Andreasson (Chalmers University of Technology)
  • Colin Barrow (Deakin University)
  • Evan Bieske (University of Melbourne)
  • Stephen Blanksby (Queensland University of Technology)
  • Steven Bottle (Queensland University of Technology)
  • Filip Bures (Univerzita Pardubice)
  • Niklaas Buurma (Cardiff University)
  • Bun Chan (Nagasaki University)
  • Guido Clever (Technische Universität Dortmund)
  • Michelle Coote (Australian National University)
  • Maria Cristiano (Universidade de Algarve)
  • Anthony Day (University of New South Wales, Canberra)
  • James de Voss (University of Queensland)
  • W. Alex Donald (University of New South Wales, Sydney)
  • Gino DiLabio (University of British Columbia)
  • Jason Dutton (La Trobe University)
  • Chris Easton (Australian National University)
  • Beatriz Escuder Gil (Universitat Jaume I)
  • Daniel Ess (Brigham Young University)
  • Chris Fitchett (University of Canterbury, Christchurch)
  • Natia Frank (University of Victoria, Canada)
  • James Gardiner (CSIRO)
  • Steve Glover (University of New England)
  • Anna Gudmundsdottir (University of Cincinnati)
  • Rainer Herges (Universität Kiel)
  • Junming Ho (Agency for Science, Technology and Research, Singapore)
  • Eduardo Humeres (Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina)
  • Richard Johnson (University of New Hampshire)
  • Kate Jolliffe (University of Sydney)
  • Scott Kable (University of New South Wales, Sydney)
  • Lazslo Kurti (Rice University)
  • Sara Kyne (University of Lincoln)
  • Jérôme Lacour (Université de Genève)
  • Girish Lakhwani (University of Sydney)
  • Pierangelo Metrangelo (Politecnico di Milano)
  • J. N. Moorthy (Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur)
  • Henrik Ottosson (Uppsala University)
  • Paulina Pavez (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile)
  • Richard Payne (University of Sydney)
  • Fred Pfeffer (Deakin University)
  • Uwe Pischel (University of Huelva)
  • Tara Pukala (University of Adelaide)
  • Colin Raston (Flindes University of South Australia)
  • Jeffrey Reimers (Shanghai University)
  • Alan Rowan (University of Queensland)
  • Nicole Rijs (Karlsruher Institute für Technologie)
  • Wolfram Sander (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)
  • Kotaro Satoh (Nagoya University)
  • Peter Schreiner (Justus-Liebig-Unviersität Giessen)
  • Mick Sherburn (Australian National University)
  • Bradley Smith (University of Notre Dame)
  • David Smith (Ruder Boskovic Institute, Croatia)
  • Adam Trevitt (University of Wollongong)
  • Einar Uggerud (Universitetet i Oslo)
  • Max von Delius (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg)
  • Simon Webb (University of Manchester)
  • Jonathan White (University of Melbourne)
  • Brendan Wilkinson (University of New England)
  • Uta Wille (University of Melbourne)
  • Ian Williams (University of Bath)
  • Craig Williams (University of Queensland)
  • Nicholas Williams (University of Sheffield)
  • David Wilson (Latrobe University)
  • Masakazu Yamazaki (Tohoku University)
  • Brian Yates (University of Tasmania)
  • Zhi-Xiang Yu (Peking University)


Organised with support from Systems Chemistry Australia


Principal Sponsors



Gold Sponsors


Silver Sponsors








Other Conferences

The Conference is expecting to attract over 600 delegates (scientists, pharmacists, research groups and industry bodies) surrounding the areas of organic and inorganic chemistry. The Conference program will address topics surrounding such areas of Transition Metal Complexes, Rare Earth Chemistry, Materials and Precursors, Bio-Organometallic Chemistry, Structure and Reactivity, Applications in Catalysis, Applications in Asymmetric Synthesis, Theoretical Studies, Sustainable Chemistry and more. The program will feature internationally and nationally renowned speakers from across the globe.